My Heart is Steadfast, O God…

My heart is steadfast, O God, my heart is steadfast!…For your steadfast love is great to the heavens, your faithfulness to the clouds. (Ps. 57:7, 10)

“The woman with a steadfast heart is a woman who is alive — alive to all the emotions she’s been given by the Lord. She’s aware of the sinful possibilities that emotions may enflame, but she’s not stoical or afraid to laugh or to cry. She doesn’t let her emotions lead her, but she doesn’t ignore them either. She can mourn, and she can dance. She can have great joy and hope, and she can fearlessly rejoice when God turns her captivity.  A steadfast heart isn’t a dead heart; it’s a heart that’s pulsating with a vibrant, dynamic faith, God-centered thought, and redeemed emotions that bring life and color to every experience.” __Elyse Fitzpatrick

I love this because there is such a lovely pointing to Christ, His suffering, love and faithfulness and its effect on me to say, “whom do I have in this world that I desire more than Thee” and a looking onto Christ. The more I look onto Christ, the more my heart is made steadfast. The more I look to Christ, the more I love and worship Him. The more I look to Christ, the more I see I am unable even as a mature believer to do anything in my own power but I am totally, 100%, body and soul, anchored to Him and thus my trust in His faithfulness and goodness are secure that He, and He alone, knows what is best for me. It is easy for us as finite creatures, even as believers, to look to our own selves for strength to “pull ourselves up by our own bootstraps” to “do it ourselves” “in our power” but Our Wise Lord wants us totally dependant upon Him, on our knees, with worshipful hearts and minds so that He can bless us, yes, bless us, with His strength, wisdom and direction for our lives. I love this simple but large thought…”he keeps me.” It is a large because His “keeping me” encompasses me in all of my ways. I am in His hands. So whether there is a storm, a blast of wind in the face, fear, pain and suffering, trials and tribulations, the burden of sin of commission and omission, or just living the Christian life in a ungodly world, HE keeps ME! How glorious and comforting this is to the growing heart! Blessed be God who daily loads us with benefits, even the God of our Salvation!_TheologyGirl

Leave a Reply

