Find Rest O My Soul In God Alone

Wait on the Lord, and Wait on THE LORD ALONE.

“Lead me in your truth, and teach me; for you are the God of my salvation; on you do I wait all the day.” Psalm 25:5

This was David’s counsel to his own soul– “Find rest, O my soul, in God alone; my hope comes from him. He alone is my rock and my salvation; he is my fortress, I will not be shaken. My salvation and my honor depend on God; he is my mighty rock, my refuge.” In all seasons of affliction and trouble, in all times of temptation and suffering, wait upon God. In the exercise of faith and patience, pleading with him to perform his promises, and deliver your soul, wait upon God. Murmur not, repine not, but wait upon God.

Wait only upon God, for perhaps man can not help you; or if he can, he may not be disposed; or he may raise your expectations only to deceive you. But God can do all you need; he can give all you require; and he can do so at any time. He bids you wait on him, and he is well pleased with the waiting soul. Treat creatures, therefore, as creatures, and trust your God as God. Look to him only and always. Wait upon him and wait for him always. Expect him to act the part of a wise, faithful, kind, and loving Father; and he will never neglect or deceive you. Wait, therefore, upon God as God, and as true to his word; “so shall your peace be like a river, and your righteousness as the waves of the sea.”

Reader, are you in trying circumstances– circumstances of peculiar trial? It may be so, and this little book may be sent to you in special mercy. To you the Scripture speaks, when it says– “Wait on the Lord.” The Lord can easily find a way for your escape, or make one. Your case cannot be desperate while God is omnipotent. However great the difficulties that lie in your path, however impossible it may appear for you to escape or overcome them, there is nothing too hard for the Lord. He can make a way in the sea, and a path in the deep waters. Let nothing therefore dishearten or discourage you. You may be brought into such a state as to be entirely dependent on the Lord, having no friend, adviser, or helper; and that may be the most blessed season of your life. Then you may use David’s prayer, with David’s feelings– “Lead me in your truth, and teach me; for you are the God of my salvation; on you do I wait all the day.” Psalm 25:5

______________________
James Smith “Wait on the Lord”

This devotional supplements and compliments are current group reading/study “Waiting on God”

Leave a Reply

